Portland Public Schools
Portland, Oregon

Grant HS LogoGrant High School

Grant High Generals

2245 NE 36th Ave | Portland, OR 97212
Phone: (503) 916-5160 | Fax: (503) 916-2695

Stephanie D'Cruz

Position: English Teacher
Email: sdcruz2@pps.net
Phone: 75 767

Course Syllabus

Sustained Silent Reading Information

Current Homework

 Bring your reading book every day for English!

Your on-going homework is to read an average of 30 minutes per night in your SSR book. Make sure you update goodreads at least once a week.

Week of Feb. 9-13

For Mon. Feb. 9- Read to pg. 45 in The Hot Zone

For Tues. Feb. 10 - Read to pg. 91 in The Hot Zone

For Thurs. Feb. 12 - Read to pg. 136 and EXPECT A Quiz

For Fri. Feb. 13 - Rough Draft of Community Profile and Interview Recordings Due

Here is the assignment

This will also help: Journalistic Style PowerPoint

Week of Feb. 17-20

For Tues. Feb. 17 - Read to pg. 226 in Hot Zone

For Wed. Feb. 18 - Revised Draft of Profile Due. Make edits from Friday's class

For Thurs. Feb. 19 - Read to pg. 271. DIALOGUE JOURNALS DUE! Here is the assignment

For Fri. Feb. 20 FINAL DRAFT OF PROFILE DUE

Week of Feb. 23-27

For Mon. Feb. 23 - Read to pg. 316 in Hot Zone. Reading Quiz!!

For Tues. Feb. 24 - Read to pg. 361 in Hot Zone

For Wed. Feb. 25 - GROUP ESSAY DUE AT END OF PERIOD

Week of March 2-6

For Tues. March 3 - Dialogue Journals # 2 Due! Finish book!

For. Thurs. March 5 - Final Reading Quiz


   


Teaching Schedule

Teaching Schedule for 2014-15
Monday Morning/Tuesday/Thursday - Blue Schedule
Period 1 2 3 4
Class Eng 1-2 Prep Eng 1-2 Eng 1-2
Monday Afternoon/Wednesday/Friday - Gray Schedule
Period 5 6 7 8
Class Writer's Workshop Prep Writer's Workshop Writer's Workshop