Portland Public Schools
Portland, Oregon

Grant HS LogoGrant High School

Grant High Generals

2245 NE 36th Ave | Portland, OR 97212
Phone: (503) 916-5160 | Fax: (503) 916-2695

Stephanie D'Cruz

Periods 2,3,4 - Siskiyou Community Writer's Workshop

Periods 6,7,8 - Siskiyou Community English

 

Course Syllabus

Sustained Silent Reading Information

 

Current Homework

 Bring your reading book every day for English!

Your on-going homework is to read at least 25 minutes per night in your SSR book. Make sure you are reading at least 100 pgs. per week and tracking your reading.

Here are some useful videos for MLA Format:

Here is how to format using Google Docs: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R9-uwJpU61Q&feature=player_embedded

How to format using Microsoft Word: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Qf8AfiCcD4&feature=player_embedded

Week of April 14-18

For Monday, April 14 - Presentation for Film Unit Final Project start this week. You must present on the day that you signed up for.    Essays are due on the day that you present.   Here are instructions for the presentation   Here are instructions for the essay

For Thursday, April 16 - Have drafts of poems ready - "Portrait," "Unfinished Business," "Underappreciated Person," "Letter to Myself" and "Ego-Trippin'"

Week of April 21 - 25

For Friday, April 25 - Rough Draft of Storyboard Due (English)  Here is the assignment

Week of April 28 - May 2

For Tuesday, April 29 - Periods 2 and 4 only! Draft of Slam poem due  Here is the assignment 

For Friday, May 2 - Storyboard Project Due. Be prepared to present your book and storyboard to the class. (English)

Week of May 5-9

For Tuesday, May 6 -  Periods 2 and 4 only!Last day to have poem starts checked ("Portrait," "Unfinished Business," "Under-appreciated Person," "Letter to Myself," "Ego-Trippin'" and "Poetry Itself"

For Wednesday, May 7 - Read Act I, Scenes 2 and 3 in Romeo and Juliet. Answer two of the sidebar questions for each scene (a total of 4 questions)

For Thursday, May 8 - Periods 2 and 4 only! Final of Slam poem due and read-around (include drafts and peer edits with your final)

For Friday, May 9 - Finish "Love Connection" worksheet (English)

Week of May 12-16

For Monday, May 12 - Period 3 only! Final of Slam Poem due and read-around (include drafts and peer edits with your final)

 For Wednesday, May 14 - Read Act Two, Scenes 3-5. Answer two of the sidebar questions for each scene (a total of 6 questions)

Week of May 19-23

For Mon. May 19 - Read Act Three Scenes 2-4. Answer two of the sidebar questions for each scene (a total of 6 questions).

For Thursday, May 22 - Periods 2 and 4 - Rough Draft of Fiction Story Due/ Period 3 - Final Draft of Fiction Story Due.

Week of May 27-30

For Wed. May 28 - Read Act Four, Scenes 4-5. Pick three of the "Reading Check" or "Thinking Critically Questions" on pg. 1007

For Thurs. May 29 - Periods 2 and 4 - Final Draft of Fiction Story Due. 

For Fri. May 30 - Read Act Five, Scene 1-3. Answer two of the sidebar questions of each scene. (6 questions total).

 Week of June 2-6

For Fri. June 6 - Romeo and Juliet Creative Projects Due. Be prepared to present your skits and turn in your individual written work.  Here is the assignment   Here are directions for written part

Week of June 9-13 - EXAMS!

Mon, Wed, Fri - In-Class, evidence based, persuasive essay on Romeo and Juliet (English)

Tues. June 10 - Word of the Day Test (Writer's Workshop)

Tues. June 10 - Last day to turn in rewrites for the semester

Thurs. June 12 - Portfolio Review (Writer's Workshop)

Fri. June 13 - LAST DAY TO TURN IN LATE MAJOR PROJECTS!! 


Teaching Schedule

Teaching Schedule for 2013-14
Monday Morning/Tuesday/Thursday - Blue Schedule
Period 1 2 3 4
Class Prep Writer's Workshop Writer's Workshop Writer's Workshop

Monday Afternoon/Wednesday/Friday - Gray Schedule
Period 5 6 7 8
Class English 1-2 Prep English 1-2 English 1-2