Portland Public Schools
Portland, Oregon

Cleveland High School

Home of the WARRIORS

3400 SE 26th Ave | Portland, OR 97202
Phone: (503) 916-5120 | Fax: (503) 916-2692
Email: cleveland.webteam@gmail.com

Clubs

2015-2016 CHS Clubs

AFRICAN STUDENT UNION
Students will explore the traditions and cultures of the regions of Africa.
Advisor
: Julia Blattner (Room 125) at jblattne@pps.net

ALPINE SKI CLUB
Features dryland training in November and ski training at Ski Bowl or Meadows. On hill training will occur after school on Tuesdays. grantclevelandskiteam.com.
Advisor: Randy Hewitt (503-804-3838) at grantskiraceteam@gmail.com

ANIMAL ADVOCACY CLUB
Members will learn, educate and take action on problems facing animals in our society. Activities will include field trips and fundraisers.
Advisor: Caroline Hintz (Room 329) at chintz@pps.net

ASIAN STUDENT UNTION
Open to all, the club will learn about diverse Asian cultures, volunteer for local organizations and attend community events.
Advisor: Nancy Yang (Room 315) at nyang@pps.net

BOWLING CLUB
Students practice at Pro 300 Lanes to prepare for league competition.
Advisor: Steve Nims (Room 115) at snims@pps.net

CHESS CLUB
Members teach newcomers and learn competitive strategies Tuesday at lunch.
Advisor: Kieran LeMeune (Room 382) at klemeune@pps.net

CHS CONSTITUTION CLUB
Uses Congressional hearings format to learn about the interaction of current events, history and government; members meet Wednesdays after school.
Advisor: Sadie Adams (Room 386) at sadams2@pps.net

CLIMATE JUSTICE CLUB
Students learn about and discuss climate issues facing our planet and what citizens can do to impact the decisions that will make a difference.
Advisor: Kathleen Fuller (Room 355) at kfuller@pps.net

EMBODY LOVE CLUB
Believing in the concepts of the Embody Love Movement, this club fosters the message that individuals are “perfect as they are, no matter what society may depict.
Advisor: Lynne Gardner-Allers (Room 109) at lallers@pps.net

HEBREW CLUB
This new club aims to familiarize members with Jewish traditions, discriminatory issues, and history, and plans to offer some Hebrew language instruction.
Advisor: Tim Graham (Room 225) at tgraham1@pps.net

HIP-HOP RECOGNITION
HHip-Hop enthusiasts meet to enjoy the music of hip-hop, learn about the culture and rehearse performances.
Advisor: Matt Sten (Room 117) at msten@pps.net

HUMANITARIAN CLUB
Focusing on North Korean and Afghanistan children, members will learn about the famine, starvation and human rights issues that plague this population.
Advisor: Tim Graham (Room 225) at tgraham1@pps.net

IMPROV CLUB
Provides a fun, safe environment for students to explore and refine improvisational skills and related art forms.
Advisor: Tom Beckett (Room 268) at tbeckett@pps.net

KEY CLUB
Members learn leadership skills and commit to service hours on behalf of school and community. This group is affiliated with the Kiwanis club.
Advisor: David Hillis (Room 110) at dhillis@pps.net

KPOP CLUB
An abbreviation of Korean pop, Kpop is a musical genre that originated in South Korea. This new club is open to all who want to listen to Kpop and enjoy art. Meets Tuesdays at lunch.
Advisor: John Walker (Room 383) at jwalker1@pps.net

MAGIC: THE GATHERING CLUB
All are invited to play on Tuesdays at lunch. Bring a deck if it is available.
Advisor: Kathleen Fuller (Room 355) at kfuller@pps.net

NAEMURA'S INVESTMENT GROUP
Members will learn about stocks and trading, using stock market exercises. Will feature guest speakers. Meets Tuesdays at lunch in the CHS Mall.
Advisor: Matt Staab (Room 330) at mstaab@pps.net

NORDIC SKI TEAM
Members train for and race in cross country skiing events. Beginners are welcome. Training on Tuesday nights and Sunday mornings, Dec. through Feb.
Advisor: Robert Schlichting (Room 320) at rschlich@pps.net

PHOTOGRAPHY CLUB
Those interested in digital photography share and critique each other’s projects.
Advisor: Sheri Vogt (Room 311)

RED CROSS CHS CHAPTER
Members will learn about natural disaster preparedness and contribute to community service projects that focus on health and safety awareness.
Advisor: Patrick Gonzales (Room 127) at jgonzales@pps.net

ROBOTICS ("PIGMICE") CLUB
Design, build and test robots to prepare for robotics competitions in the spring. This year-round club is student-led with adult mentors to advise and assist.
Advisor: Brian Barnes (Room 248) at bbarnes@pps.net

SEXUALITY AND GENDER ALLIANCE
Meetings offer a safe space for queer students and their allies to discuss topics relating to sexual orientation and gender identity.
Advisor: Keska Kemper (Room 308) at kkemper@pps.net

SNOWBOARD TEAM
With Grant students, CHS boarders meet at Mt. Hood weekly during the winter.
Advisor: Michelle Burkhart (503-475-8748)

SPIRIT SQUAD
Members support athletic teams by advertising upcoming contests and encouraging others to attend games to increase the spirit at these events.
Advisor: Camille Adana (Room 381) at cadana@pps.net

STUDENT UNION
A chapter of Portland Student Union, a group of student activists/ organizers, CHS members seek change thorough direct action, legal mediums and the empowerment of student voices.
Advisor: Tim Graham (Room 225) at tgraham1@pps.net

STUDENTS ACTIVE FOR ENDING RAPE ("SAFER")
Members work to defy stereotypes and to learn how to avoid dating abuse and violence.
Advisor: Gaye Chapman (Room 384) at gchapman@pps.net

STUDENTS FOR GLOBAL CHANGE & UNDERSTANDING
Members learn about different cultures and how to get involved in current global issues that will make a difference. Meets Tuesdays at lunch.
Advisor: Matt Sten (Room 117) at msten@pps.net

SUSTAINABLE AGRICULTURE CLUB (SAG)
Aims to create and maintain a community garden on campus. Members will work to secure a site, fundraise and construct the garden.
Advisor: Robert Schlichting (Room 320) at rschlich@pps.net

TRAIL WARRIORS
Utilizes the small group adventure experience (hiking, paddling, biking) to encourage personal growth through the discovery of our environment.
Advisor: Scott Burns (Room 344) at sburns@pps.net

ULTIMATE FRISBEE CLUB
Members will compete on Cleveland’s team and practice at Duniway, beginning in November. Open to all grade levels.
Advisor: Mark Warner (Rooms 286/357) at mwarner@pps.net

VEGETARIAN AND VEGAN CLUB
Aims to educate members about nutrition and to design some educational literature. Meets twice a month on Tuesdays at lunch.
Advisor: Gaye Chapman (Room 384) at gchapman@pps.net

WASABI KRAKEN DRAGON BOAT TEAM
Dedicated to developing a strong community who share a passion for paddling and competition, with a major event during Rose Festival.
Advisor: Kathleen Fuller (Room 355) at kfuller@pps.net