Portland Public Schools
Portland, Oregon

Cleveland High School

Home of the WARRIORS

3400 SE 26th Ave | Portland, OR 97202
Phone: (503) 916-5120 | Fax: (503) 916-2692
Email: cleveland.webteam@gmail.com

Clubs

2013-2014 CHS Clubs

BLACK STUDENT UNION
This group aims to educate students of all ethnicities to become more socially aware of other cultures and to embrace diversity in our community.
Advisor: Darryl Miles (Room 284) at dmiles1@pps.net

BOWLING CLUB
Students practice at Pro 300 Lanes to prepare for league competition.
Advisor: Steve Nims (Room 115) at snims@pps.net

CHESS CLUB
Members teach newcomers and learn competitive strategies.
Advisor: Darryl Miles (Room 284) at dmiles1@pps.net

CINEMA CLUB
Members watch movies and learn about the film industry.
Advisor: Jeff Zerba (Room 235) at jzerba@pps.net

COMPUTER CLUB
Students learn coding languages beginning with HTML and moving onto CSS and JavaScript and will then create websites.
Advisor: Ben Weston (Room 383) at bweston@pps.net

CLEVELAND STUDENT UNION
These activitsts aim to educate students and encourage their participation in the political process as it affects their education.
Advisor: Tim Graham (Room 225) at tgraham1@pps.net

COOKING CLUB
Introduces basic cooking skills and nutrition basics; balanced meals and budgeting are the emphasis.
Advisor: Kellie Cook (Room 281)

CROSSFIT CHS
This approach to wellness is incorporated into the strength and conditioning classes, along with both adult and youth fitness classes.
Advisor: Kendra Gardner (Fitness Center) at kkgardner@pps.net

DIVORCED POETS CLUB
Provides a platform for students to share literary art, specifically poetry, and to receive feedback free of judgment or sense of competition.
Advisor: David Hillis (Room 110) at dhillis@pps.net

GARDEN CLUB
Members will maintain the school garden and greenhouse, learning about plants and optimal growing conditions.
Advisor: Kellie Cook/Terry Hall (Rooms 281/363) at thall1@pps.net

HAND IN PAW
Aims to raise awareness about the treatment of animals and host events and fundraisers for animal rights charities.
Advisor: Joe Duran (Room 119) at jduran@pps.net

HIP-HOP RECOGNITION
Hip-Hop enthusiasts discuss the music, culture and history of hip-hop.
Advisor: Matt Sten (Room 117) at msten@pps.net

HISPANIC STUDENT UNION
Sharing ideas, learning about current events and the Hispanic and Latino cultures, along with career opportunities after high school.
Advisor: Susan Douglass (Room 233) at sdouglass@pps.net

IMPROV CLUB
Provides a fun, safe environment for students to explore and refine improvisational skills and related art forms.
Advisor: Tom Beckett (Room 268) at tbeckett@pps.net

JEWISH STUDENT UNION
All students, no matter their religion, are invited to learn about Jewish culture and traditions.
Advisor: Tim Graham (Room 225) at mailtotgraham1@pps.net

KEY KLUB
Members learn leadership skills and commit to service hours on behalf of school and community. This group is affiliated with the Kiwanis club.
Advisor: Kellie Cook (Room 281)

LANGUAGE HUNTERS CLUB
This group learns language-revitalizing game-play and focuses on the linguistics and cultures of their peers.
Advisor: Gaye Chapman (Room 384) at gchapman@pps.net

LITERARY MAGAZINE (THE ERA)
Members produce a literary magazine featuring student art and writing.
Advisor: David Hillis (Room 110) at dhillis@pps.net

NORDIC SKI TEAM
Members train for and race in cross country skiing events. Beginners are welcome. Begins in November with State meet in March.
Advisor: Robert Schlichting (Room 320) at rschlich@pps.net

PHOTOGRAPHY CLUB
Those interested in photography meet for instruction and seminars.
Advisor: John Devine (Room 359) at jdevine@pps.net

QUEER STRAIGHT ALLIANCE
This is an opportunity for queer students and allies to meet and to facilitate connections between students and LGBT resources in the Portland area.
Advisor: Keska Kemper (Rooms 387) at kkemper@pps.net

ROBOTICS CLUB
Design, build and test robots to prepare for competitions.  In January -April meet every day after school.
Advisor: Roberta Stubbs (Room 229) at rstubbs@pps.net

SCIENTIFIC INQUIRERS
Members will prepare to present an independent student research project at the PSU Science Fair and sharpen their interviewing skills needed for the Fair.
Advisor: Scott Burns (Room 344) at sburns@pps.net

SPIRIT SQUAD
Aims to enhance the spirit at CHS and encourage more student involvement.
Advisor: Camille Adana (Room 277) at cadana@pps.net

THESPIANS

An honorary organization comprised of those who work, both on and off stage, on drama productions.
Advisor: Tom Beckett (Room 268) at tbeckett@pps.net

TRAIL WARRIORS
Utilizes the small group adventure experience to encourage personal growth through discovery of our environment.
Advisor: Lynne Allers (Room 109) at lallers@pps.net