Portland Public Schools
Portland, Oregon

Cleveland High School

Home of the WARRIORS

3400 SE 26th Ave | Portland, OR 97202
Phone: (503) 916-5120 | Fax: (503) 916-2692
Email: cleveland.webteam@gmail.com

Clubs

2014-2015 CHS Clubs

ALPINE SKI CLUB
Activities include alpine ski training and racing, team building, and environmental responsibility.  Meet at Mt. Hood on Wednesdays and Saturdays in the winter. grantclevelandskiteam.com
Advisor: Randy Hewitt (503-804-3838) at grantskiraceteam@gmail.com

BADMINTON CLUB
Members meet Tuesdays at lunch in the upper weight room of the Fitness Center.
Advisor: Casey Dyer (Fitness Center) at cdyer@pps.net

BOWLING CLUB
Students practice at Pro 300 Lanes to prepare for league competition.
Advisor: Steve Nims (Room 115) at snims@pps.net

CHRIST IN TODAY'S YOUTH (CITY) CLUB
Meet on Thursdays at lunch to share fellowship and the gospel.
Advisor: Anna-Kate Peterson (Room 312) at apeters2@pps.net

CHESS CLUB
Members teach newcomers and learn competitive strategies Tuesday at lunch.
Advisor: Darryl Miles (Room 284) at dmiles1@pps.net

ENVIRONMENTAL CLUB
Provides a platform for students to share/learn about environmental issues. 
Advisor: Brenda Gordon (Room 366) at bgordon1@pps.net

HIP-HOP RECOGNITION
Hip-Hop enthusiasts discuss the music, culture and history of hip-hop.
Advisor: Matt Sten (Room 117) at msten@pps.net

IMPROV CLUB
Provides a fun, safe environment for students to explore and refine improvisational skills and related art forms.
Advisor: Tom Beckett (Room 268) at tbeckett@pps.net

KEY KLUB
Members learn leadership skills and commit to service hours on behalf of school and community. This group is affiliated with the Kiwanis club.
Advisor: Carol Xiang (Room 217) at mxiang@pps.net

NORDIC SKI TEAM
Members train for and race in cross country skiing events. Beginners are welcome. Begins in November with State meet in March.
Advisor: Robert Schlichting (Room 320) at rschlich@pps.net

PHOTOGRAPHY CLUB
Those interested in photography meet for instruction and seminars.
Advisor: John Devine (Room 359) at jdevine@pps.net

QUEER STRAIGHT ALLIANCE
This is an opportunity for queer students and allies to meet and to facilitate connections between students and LGBT resources in the Portland area.
Advisor: Keska Kemper (Room 387) at kkemper@pps.net

ROBOTICS ("PIGMICE") CLUB
Design, build and test robots to prepare for competitions.  In January -April meet every day after school.
Advisor: Terry Hall (Room 363) at thall1@pps.net

STUDENTS ACTIVE FOR ENDING RAPE ("SAFER")
Members work to defy stereotypes and to learn how to avoid abuse and violence.
Advisor: Gaye Chapman (Room 384) at gchapman@pps.net

SLAMMED! POETRY CLUB
Provides a positive, encouraging space for writing, performing, critiquing slam poetry.
Advisor: David Hillis (Room 110) at dhillis@pps.net

SNOWBOARD TEAM
With Grant and Central Catholic students,  meet at Mt. Hood from December-March. 
Advisor: Michelle Burkhart (503-475-8748)

SURFCLUB
Members learn more about this sport in meetings every three weeks at lunch.
Advisor: David Hillis (Room 110) at dhillis@pps.net

TABLE TENNIS CLUB
Learn and perfect the basics of table tennis at lunch on Tuesdays.
Advisor: Andy Sorensen (Room 368) at asorense@pps.net

WASABIT KRAKEN DRAGON BOAT TEAM
Dedicated to developing a strong community who share a passion for paddling and competition, with a major event during Rose Festival.
Advisor: Kathleen Fuller (Room 387) at kfuller@pps.net

YOGA CLUB
Focusing on stretching and reducing stress, members meet on Thursdays.
Advisor: Emma Wood (Room 219) at ewood@pps.net